top of page

Before and After - Tall Bookshelf

I decided to finally move my craft room downstairs. I no longer have to carry my furniture pieces upstairs. It is easier to work in the garage and the basement. So, here is one of my thrift store finds. I decided to search the internet to see what others were doing with craft bookcases and I found some information about this paint. I LOVE chalk paint but I found a really good paint that does not require wax. When you get tired of the paint color just paint over the piece.

Drum roll..............

Here is the bookshelf before.....I lightly sanded the piece.

Here is the after result. Please keep in mind the darker the wood the more coats will you will have to add to your piece. With chalk paint, I would have had to do at least 2/3 coats then waxed the piece. With this paint, I only did three coats and I was done. I love it!

I decided I wanted a distress look so I lighted sanded off some of the white paint. I figured it was going to get a lot of use and I was going to scratch it here and there. I love the end result.

bottom of page