top of page

Chair - Before and After

I love shopping for pieces at the thrift stores. You should try it! You never know what you are going to find. By the way, when you shop at some of these thrift stores you are helping your community and some of the furniture items are way cheaper than craigslist or offerup. Never hesitate asking the manager for a lower price. Did you know that you will be helping your community when you purchase items at your local thrift stores? These are my favorite: Goodwill, Redracks and Hillcrest.

Let me start by saying that I do tons of research online before I begin a project.

Here is one of the chairs I bought for $15. I paid less than $25 for the duck canvas fabric at Walmart. Yes, Walmart has really nice fabrics. You should look into it. I knew the fabric was old but the chairs had good bones.

This is a great time to decide if you need a new cushion or more padding. I always unzip the cushions before buying a piece and I always sit in the chair. I know it looks dirty but you want to make sure the coils or bottom part of the chair are solid. If you look underneath a chair it sometimes has the manufacturer name. Google it and see if they make covers or if it is expensive. The price online can tell you if it is a well made piece.

You will love these videos on how to make a slipcover: https://youtu.be/HtDFU7FR7o0

I decided to take off the fabric and make a pattern instead of creating one myself. I thought this would be easier and I would have a pattern already done for the second chair. If I want to recover the chairs in the future I will have a complete pattern ready for new fabric. The next two pictures shows what the chair looked like with part of the fabric gone and part of the cover almost completed.

Drum roll, please!!!! Here is the final product. With duck canvas you can place any color pillow or throw blanket and change it up to your liking.

 

bottom of page