top of page

Wood Signs

I love making wood signs, especially for a special day/holiday or just because. I have no idea how many signs I have made at this time but I enjoy it. I found some cabinet doors on Craigslist about a year ago and decided to use them as wood signs.

Wood signs online are pricey and when I figured out I could make them for under $12 each, I made them myself. I did buy a Silhouette machine to help me make the signs faster and I no longer paint in the letters.

Materials needed:

1. Silhouette or other cutting machine

2. Behr "sample" paint

3. Plaster of Paris & calcium carbonate - 2 tablespoons of each and 2 tablespoons of water - make sure to mix well before you add it to your 2 cups of paint. (Find a tightly sealed container for your paints)

IF you do not want to use both plaster of paris & calcium, use this recipe. Calcium = 2 tablespoons, water 1 tbl. - mix well into 1 cup latex paint. If you need a quart, just use 8 tbl. of calcium with 4 tbl. of water - mix well and then pour to a 1 quart latex paint.

4. Paint brush

5. Vinyl for Silhouette machine

6. Work station that has been covered with plastic - I use my dining room table

I love this website: https://youtu.be/eJjI41rbPqo

Steps:

Paint your board/door - let it dry

Sand it lightly - 220 grit

Create your design on a machine

Place your design on the board. Paint over the design with the same color of paint of the board this will help with leaks. - let it dry - wait about 30 minutes before removing stencil

Remove stencil - carefully

Sand it again - 220 grit

Wax it down with Anne Sloan Wax











You are done!

bottom of page